An Approach for Evaluating the Technical Quality of Interim Assessments

This article describes six criteria areas that should be considered in evaluating interim assessments:

  1. Test purpose and use,
  2. Test development and documentation (Item-level, test-level, and multiple test level criteria),
  3. Administration and inclusion, 
  4. Test scores and reports,
  5. Test utility, and
  6. Practicality and logistics.
Content Comments 

The criteria are grounded in the Standards for Educational and Psychological Testing (1999) and add to technical concerns for validity and reliability as well as practical concerns for the usefulness and use of test results. The article defines each criterion and exemplifies how the criteria are applied. Sample tables are that can be used to document the evaluation of each criterion.